Shyllon, Adesina, others bag Turkish awards

Jul 11 2014 - 10:25pm

Quintessential art collector, Prince Yemisi Shyllon was among the nine Nigerians honoured by the UFUK Dialogue Foundation at the 2014 edition of the organisation’s peace and dialogue award which was held  Thursday evening at Sheraton Hotel, Abuja. 

The Art collector who is the founder of Omooba Yemisi Adedoyin Shyllon Art Foundation (OYASAF), a non-profit organisation established in 2007 to promote the appreciation and study of Nigerian arts and artists, making the collection available to museums, educational institutions, and scholars was presented with Culture Award for by the UFUK Foundation for using art as a platform for promoting peace and international relations. 

Specifically, the Turkish Foundation gave the award to Prince Shyllon for facilitating and packaging 10 Nigerian artists to exhibit with their Turkish counterparts in the last African Union summit held  in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. 

The exhibition was part of one year touring exhibition of the artistes to Turkey and three cities in the United States of America. 

Also honoured by the Foundation was Femi Adesina, President, Nigeria Guild of Editors. 

Engr. Shyllon, with the award. Photo Femi Ipaye

Engr. Shyllon, with the award. Photo Femi Ipaye

Musa Sada, Adesina, Shyllon. Photo Femi Ipaye

Musa Sada, Adesina, Shyllon. Photo Femi Ipaye

He was honoured for using his columns to ventilate wide perspective of opinions which, according to the Foundation, promotes unity and serve as a platform of dialogue between the north, south, east and western part of the country. 

The Foundation also honoured  Most Rev. Ignatius Kaigama, President, Conference of Catholic Bishop of Nigeria and Professor Isaq Oloyede, Secretary General, Nigeria Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs. 

The two religious leaders were honoured for their contributions in fostering dialogue in religious societies and encouraging their followers to work on dialogue and peace. 

The other  persons presented with awards at the ceremony include Professor Suleiman Elias Bogoro, Executive Secretary, Tertiary Education Fund, Dr. Joseph Golwa, Secretary General, Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution and the President of Federation of Muslim Women Societies of Nigeria among others.

Please share your thoughts in the comment box below