Football: Pitroipa, Traore, in Burkina Faso's 2015 CAN squad

Football: Pitroipa, Traore, in Burkina Faso's 2015 CAN squad

Saturday, December 27, 2014 11:32 pm

Burkina Faso squad in 2013

Burkina Faso squad in 2013

Jonathan Pitroipa and Alain Traore, who starred in Burkina Faso’s run to the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations final, were among the provisional squad of 24 players announced Saturday for the 2015 finals.

Also featuring in the list of 24 players announced by Burkina Faso’s Belgian coach Paul Put was Prejuce Nacoulma. The Turkey-based midfielder returns after a spell on the sidelines for indiscipline.

Burkina Faso are in first round Group A with 2015 hosts Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Congo Brazzaville.

The Stallions were the surprise packages of the last Nations Cup, reaching the final in South Africa’s Soccer City where they lost out 1-0 to Nigeria.

Burkina Faso provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Moussa Germain Sanou (WC Beauvais/FRA), Abdoulaye Soulama (Hearts of Oak/GHA), Moussa Fofana (RC Kadiogo/BUR)

Defenders: Bakary Kone (Lyon/FRA), Mohamed Koffi (Zamalek/EGY), Wilfried Balima (Sheriff Tiraspol/MDA), Steve Yago (Toulouse/FRA), Paul Keba Koulibaly (Horoya FC/GUI), Narcisse Bambara ( Universitatea Cluj/ROM), Florent Rouamba (Bastia/FRA), Issa Gouo (AS Kaloum/GUI)

Midfielders: Jonathan Zongo (Almeria/ESP), Moussa Yedan (Al Ahly/EGY), Bertrand Traore (Vitesse Arhnem/NED), Djakaridja Kone (Evian/FRA), Charles Kabore (FC Kuban/RUS), Préjuce Nacoulma (Mersin Idmanyurdu Klubu/TUR), Adama Guira (Sonderyesk/DEN), Abdou Razack Traore (Kardemir Karabuk Sport/TUR)

Forwards: Jonathan Pitroipa (Al Jazira /UAE), Aristide Bancé (HJK Helsinki/FIN), Issiaka Ouédraogo (Admira Wacker/AUS), Alain Traore (Lorient/FRA), Banou Diawara (RC Bobo/BUR)


Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.