Adekunbi returns as Ogun Assembly speaker

Adekunbi returns as Ogun Assembly speaker

Monday, June 8, 2015 3:20 pm

Abiodun Onafuye/Abeokuta

Surajudeen Ishola Adekunbi has been returned as the Speaker of the Ogun State House of Assembly.

He was re-elected after the inauguration of the eighth legislature today in Abeokuta by Governor Ibikunle Amosun.
Adekunbi, who represents Yewa North 1 State Constituency, was the Speaker of the State House of Assembly in the seventh legislature between 2011-2015.

Also Olakunle Oluomo, member representing Ifo 2 State Constituency has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the House.

The former deputy Speaker, Tola Banjo, Ijebu Ode constituency lost to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP candidate, Wale Alausa.

Speaking at the inauguration, Governor Ibikunle Amosun assured the members of the continuous support of the executive to enable them achieving their constitutional goals.

Amosun promised to continue to uphold the principle of non-interference in order to assure that the necessary checks and balances are put in place in the way of administering the State.

According to the governor, “in preparing your minds for the enormous task ahead, I must confess that the challenges of the past four years were undoubtedly daunting and the experience rewarding. The experience has been worthwhile in the sense that most of the promises that we made in our campaign manifesto have been fully delivered to the nooks and crannies of our State.

“The “Five Cardinal Programme” of our administration as enumerated in our “Mission to Rebuild” Ogun State has been so unprecedentedly implemented that it has become a template which other States of the Federation now follow. An exceptional level of participation by the people and distribution of the dividends of democracy are being witnessed across the length and breadth of our State. And, I must say that one of the greatest contributors to this worthy development was the legislative arm whose Honourable Members acted as true elected representatives of our people.

“The Seventh Legislature has become history but the major achievements of this Administration could not have been possible without the collaborative efforts of the legislative arm. I want to specially thank the Speaker and Members for their contributions to the development of our great State. Together, we have walked the path of progress for the betterment of our people in the last four years.

“Our collective efforts have set our great State on steady path of sustainable development and improvement on the lives of our people. I congratulate the Speaker and all the members of the Seventh legislature that despite the three-party composition of the House, and despite the obvious differences and disagreement, the House remained open throughout the four (4) year tenure of the House. The only major disagreement was resolved under 24 hours. Glory is to God.
“As the Eighth Legislature, you must therefore, realize that this opportunity to lead and serve our people also comes with its attendant challenges. First, for returning Honourable Members, you have a responsibility of ensuring that newly elected Honourable Members are quickly inducted into the practices, norms and conventions of the House.

“I also enjoin the newly elected Members to ensure that you learn fast as there is little or no time to be spent in learning the ropes. Providence has been good to you that we have a sizeable number of returning Honourable Members”, Amosun said.
The Speaker, while addressing his colleagues and the good people of Ogun State, who have converged at the Assembly ground to grace the inauguration, promised to do his best in running an all inclusive administration.
He pledged the legislative support to the governor in ensuring that expectations of the people of the State, who voted them into power are met.

“Our people should expect nothing less, the policy thrust of the new leadership is to collaborate with the executive to stimulate growth, create wealth through the enactment of enabling laws and passing of useful resolutions.
“We hope to leverage on the achievements of the past to engender a robust democratic dispensation this time around. Please, rest assured, it is time for great deals from the government. The House shall become more attentive and responsive to developmental changes.
“We shall work in tandem with relevant agencies to salvage the already challenging situation in the country, we will improve on our appropriation and oversight functions to ensure adequate funding and completion of the on-going projects and initiation of new ones”, the newly elected Speaker promised.

Other Principal officers elected to steer the eighth legislature include; Asiwaju Yinka Mafe (Sagamu 1), Majority Leader, Wale Alausa (Ijebu Ode), Minority Leader, Idowu Olowofuja (Abeokuta South 1), Chief Whip, Adebowale Ojuri (Odogbolu), APC Whip and Jelili Akingbade (Imekon Afon), PDP Whip.

Join The Conversation

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.