FG inaugurates reconstituted Committee on National Honours

FG inaugurates reconstituted Committee on National Honours

Wednesday, April 20, 2016 8:53 pm



Ayorinde Oluokun

The Federal Government on Wednesday in Abuja, inaugurated the newly reconstituted Committee on National Honours Award.

A statement by the Director of Press in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Bolaji Adebiyi, said the SGF, Babachir David Lawal, reminded members of the Committee, that the national award has two purposes, which are to recognise and honour citizens and friends of Nigeria who have distinguished themselves in their various endeavours and contributed immensely to the development of the nation.

Also, this recognition is intended to serve as motivation for all Nigerians to emulate the exemplary conduct and services of those being honoured and inspire them for such national recognition.

The SGF reiterated that for the national award to retain the prestige that it is accorded, recipients who conduct themselves in any dishonourable manner will be stripped of the national honour. This, he stressed, will be consistent with the stand of the present administration against all forms of corruption. He assured that the combined investiture ceremony for the 2015 and 2016 National Honours Award will be held this year.

The Chairman of the newly inaugurated committee, former Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Alfa Belgore, expressed the appreciation of all members of the committee for the honour of appointing them and pledged that the committee will not disappoint the nation.

He said Nigeria is a great country and that bestowing honour on any Nigerian in any grade must be acknowledged as a great national achievement. He promised that the committee will strive at all times to select the best for the National Honours.

The full membership of the reconstituted Committee is as follows:

(i) Hon. Justice Mohammed Alfa Belgore (Rtd), GCON – Chairman
(ii) Hon. Justice Umaru Kalgo (Rtd), CFR – Member
(iii) Hon. Justice Isaac Aluyi(Rtd) – Member
(iiii) Mrs. Bola Ogunriade, mni – Member
(v) Nnema Josephine Ndukwu – Member
(vi) Amb. Usman Gaji Galtimari, CON – Member
(vii) Chief Bassey Edem, MFR – Member
(viii) Engineer Gabriel Afu – Member
(ix) Ambassador NonyeUdo – Member
(x) Mr. M. F. Abikoye – Member
(xi) Mr. Y. M. Bichi – Member
(xii) Mrs. Rasheedat Okoduwa, mni – Member
(xiii) Mr. James A. Ibidapo – Member
(xiiii) Mr. Gabriel Loto – Secretary.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.