Breaking news: Police retires Mbu, Manko, Ogunsakin, 18 other AIGs

Breaking news: Police retires Mbu, Manko, Ogunsakin, 18 other AIGs

Friday, July 1, 2016 9:28 pm

IGP Idris

IGP Idris

As speculated with the appointment of Idris Ibrahim as the Acting Inspector General of Police, the Police Service Commission, PSC on Friday approved the retirement of 21 Assistant Inspectors-General of Police in a major, but expected purge officers.

Those retired were those senior to the new acting IG, Idris Ibrahim, before his appointment.

The retirement of the AIGs was announced in a statement signed the Head, Press and Public Relations, PSC, Ikechukwu Ani.

As contained in the statement, the AIGs retired include include, Bala Hassan; Yahaya Ardo; Irmiya Yarima; Danladi Mshebwala;  Tambari  Mohammed ; Bala Magaji Nasarawa; MUsa Abdulsalam; Adisa Bolanta and Mohammed Gana.

The others AIGs retrenched from the Force include  Umaru  Manko;  Lawal Tanko; Olufemi  Adenike; Johnson Ogunsakin; Adenrele Shinaba; James Caulcrick;  Olufemi   Ogunbayode; Edgar Nanakumo; Kalafite  Adeyemi;  Patrick Dokumor ; Joseph Mbu and Sabo  Ringim.

The Acting IGP was said to have recommended the retirement of the officers senior to him on assumption of office.

The retirement of the officers was also in tune with the traditions in recent years in which the upper echelons of the Police are cleared out immediately their junior was appointed the Inspector General of Police.

Critics have argued that the practice has been robbing the police of the much needed experience and institutional memory.


Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.