6 Kogi Assembly PDP legislators defect to APC

6 Kogi Assembly PDP legislators defect to APC

Thursday, March 16, 2017 6:50 pm

APC Chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun

Kogi chapter of All Progressives Congress, APC recorded bountiful harvest on Thursday with defection of six members of the State House of Assembly elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP into its fold.

With the defection of the six members, the PDP, formerly the majority party in the House, has become the minority with nine members to APC’s 16 in the 25-member Assembly.

In a joint notification letter to the Speaker, Alhaji Umar Imam, the former PDP members  cited “factional squabbles” in the their former party as reasons for their action.

According to them, they were forced to move to a more stable political group because the factional squabbles, both at the national and state levels, had torn the PDP into shreds.

The defectors were John Abah (Ibaji), Adoke Bello (Adavi), Kolawole Atthew (Kabba-Bunu), Ahmed Mohammed (Ankpa 1), Victor Omofaiye (Ijumu) and Kekere Sani-Abdulkareem (Okehi).

“The PDP has two National Chairmen – Sen. Ali Modu-Sheriff and Sen. Ahmed Makarfi- whose existence for over 10 months has left us uncomfortable, politically.

“In view of the unfortunate division and its negative implications, we have no option than to defect to the APC to be able to accomplish our missions of bringing government closer to our people,’’ the letter further stated.

Reacting, Godwin Osiyi (PDP, Ogori-Magongo), warned the defectors against moving away from their new political abode anytime it was faced with similar disagreements.

Osiyi advised that the defection should not be allowed to affect the peace and unity among members.

The Speaker, while congratulating the defectors for their decision, assured his colleagues that their action would  not affect the unity in the House.

“What is important is the peace and unity that we enjoy. The House remains one. We are all gentlemen and have to be focused toward what we can do in the remaining period,’’ Imam said.

News Agency of Nigeria however quoted a lawmaker, Friday Sani (PDP-Igalamela-Odolu),  as describing the defection as a `child’s play’,  because the members did not follow due process as enshrined in section 109 of the constitution.

“Votes belong to the party and not individual candidates; the defectors will lose their seats because we shall challenge their action in court,” he said.



Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.