Why Aregbesola delayed in constituting cabinet–Speaker

Why Aregbesola delayed in constituting cabinet–Speaker

Monday, May 8, 2017 5:12 pm

Gov. Rauf Aregbesola of Osun state

The Speaker of Osun House of Assembly, Mr Najeem Salaam, has urged the people of the state not to see the delay in the appointment of cabinet members by Gov. Rauf Aregbesola as a sign of weakness.

Salaam made the plea during the screening of the governor’s nominees for the position of Commissioners and Special Advisers at plenary on Monday in Osogbo.

The speaker said the governor’s action was   informed by necessity following the economic crisis in which the country found itself.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the governor had been without commissioners and special advisers since his inauguration for a  second term on Nov.  27,  2014.

Salaam, however, charged the nominees to see the opportunity as a call to service.

He urged the nominees, if confirmed, to make themselves available to quality advice, adding that people were watching them.

“You have my sympathy because your job does not call for envy but rather the expectations are huge for you.

” So, working with a government which is perching on a lean purse is not going to be a tea party,’’ he said.

Among the nominees screened was Sen. Mudasiru Hussein who represented Osun West Senatorial District between 2011 and 2015.

The lawmakers,  in their contributions, commended the former senator for accepting to be part of the governor’s cabinet.

Specifically, Mr Olatunbosun Oyintiloye, the House Committee Chairman on Information and Strategy, said Hussein’s  sense of humility to serve the state was commendable.

NAN reports that Gov. Aregbesola,  in a letter dated April 11, forwarded 39  nominees for the position of commissioners and special advisers to the State House of Assembly for consideration and confirmation.

The letter was read at plenary by the speaker on April 18.

Speaking with NAN after the screening, Hussein said his nomination was a call to service and not for pecuniary gain.

He said having worked for his senatorial district, he was willing to serve the state as a whole.

Other nominees screened were Mudashiru Toogun, Ipoola Binuyo, Idiat Babalola, Jimoh Akano, Idowu Korede, Kunle Ige, Bola Oyebamiji, Femi Popoola and Akintunde Akinajo. (NAN)




Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.