Edo council election: APC wins all chairmanship seats

Edo council election: APC wins all chairmanship seats

Sunday, March 4, 2018 4:34 pm

Jethro Ibileke/Benin

The Edo State Independent Electoral Commission (EDSIEC) Sunday announced results for the local government election conducted on Saturday, with the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) winning in all the 18 local government areas.

Recall that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the main opposition party in the State, had boycotted the election, alleging that it was planned to favour the ruling APC.

Following announcement of collated results by the Returning Officers if all the local government areas, the Chairman of EDSIEC, Professor Stanley Orobator, noted that the exercise was devoid of rancour and no reported cases of violence across the state.

According to the results announced by EDSIEC, Mr, Victor Emuanhagbon Victor of the APC was elected as the chairman of Esan South-East local government council with 34, 765 votes. ADP got 120, NCP 52, LP 78.

In Esan North East, Augustine Okoibkole of the APC won the elections with 24,127 votes. ADP got 411, DA 30, GPN 15.

Mr Musa Yakubu of the APC was elected as the chairman of Etsako West Local government councils with 69,998 votes.

Also, Mr. Ericyande of the APC, polled a total of 68,296 votes to win the chairmanship seat of Ikpoba-Okha local government council. ADP got 327, LP 506, NCP 256, SDP 214.

Mr. Waziri Idemudia of the APC was elected as chairman of Esan Central Local Government council with 28,387. ADP 159, LP 85 DA 86; Mr. Patrick Aguinede of the APC and a former commissioner of Education in the State, polled a total of 34,854 to become the elected chairman of Esan West Local Government council.

Other results announced showed that Mr. Ogedengbe Odia was elected chairman of Igueben local government area, having scored 25, 861 votes in the polls; Mr. Sylvester Okoro is the elected chairman of Orihonmwon local government council. He won the elections with 47,442 votes. ADP scored 329, LP 297, NCP 107, PPA 59.

Mr. John Akhigbe of the APC was also elected as the chairman of Etsako Central with 22,235 votes and Evbareke Osunde also swept Oredo with 53,381 votes.

In Etsako East, Mr Aremiyau Momoh of the APC won the chairman with 32,906 to become the elected chairman of Esan East local government. ADP 372, LP 15.

Other results announced by EDSIEC chairman, on Saturday night after the elections showed that APC’s Oteh Omoru was elected the chairman of Akoko-Edo with 42,471 votes. ADP won only 23, SDP 17.

In Ovia South West, Comrade Destiny Enabulele of the APC triumphed with 56,664 votes. ADP won 360 votes, NCP 9, PPA 5, PDP 1.

Ovia North East elected APC’s Ogbemudia Osaze with 41,303 votes. ADP got 256, DA 83, LP 167, PDC 33, PDP 3, PPA 26, SDP 15, NCP 60, GPN 46.

Napoleon Agbama of the APC was elected the new chairman of Uhunwode LG. According to EDSIEC, he polled 32,292 votes. The ADP got 83 votes, DA 52, LP 55, NCP 45, PPA 12, SDP 8.

In Owan East, Andrew Osigwe, who won 34,579 votes was elected chairman, while Ms. Eghe Ogbemudia also swept Egor with 15,348 votes, the smallest votes so far reported for the ruling party.

Frank Ilaboya easily trounced all other contenders for the chairmanship of Owan West as he won with 28,406 votes. The ADP got 252, AD 100, LP 50, SDP 56.

The EDSIEC chairman, Prof. Orobator, announced that certificates of return will be presented to the newly elected chairmen on Monday at 3 pm.

As at the time of filing the report, results for the councillorship election are still been awaited.

Join The Conversation

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.