Adamawa gets another female senator

Adamawa gets another female senator

Monday, February 25, 2019 3:47 pm

Hajiya Aisha Dahiru of All Progressives Congress (APC) has won Adamawa Central Senatorial seat, making her the only female Senator-elect so far in Northern Nigeria.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Buba Jakusko, said Dahiru scored 188,526 votes to beat Mr Murtala Chibado of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 96,530 votes.

Jakusko said Mr Mustafa Madawaki of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) came third with 36,030 votes.

The Adamawa Central Senatorial zone is made up of Yola South, Yola North as well as Girei, Fufore, Song and Gombi Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the state.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Abdurrauf Modibbo of APC won Yola-North/Yola-South/Girei Federal Constituency seat with 80,453 votes, beating Mr Jafar Ribadu of PDP who scored 48,476 votes.

Mr Mustafa Ibrahim of ADC came third with 29,222 votes.


Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.