Atiku floors Buhari in Edo, as PDP picks 2 senate seats

Atiku floors Buhari in Edo, as PDP picks 2 senate seats

Tuesday, February 26, 2019 1:59 pm

Atiku with the PDP flag at PDP Northeast rally

Jethro Ibileke/Benin

Former Vice President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar has been declared winner of last presidential election in Edo state.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), candidate polled 275,691 votes to defeat his APC’s counterpart, President Muhammadu Buhari, who scored 267,691 votes to come second.

Although Buhari won in 10 of the 18 local government areas, votes scored by Atiku who won in eight local government areas were enough to beat the APC candidate with with a margin of 7,849 votes.

INEC’s State Collation Officer, Ndowa Lale, who announced the result, said the total number of registered voters in state was 2,150,127 while the total number of accredited voters stood at 604,915.

He said the number of valid votes was 560,711 out of the was 599,228 votes cast, and 38,517 votes rejected.

The PDP candidate won in Esan North East, Ovia North East, Egor, Oredo, Esan South East, Esan West, Esan Central and Ipoba-Okha local governments.

President Buhari won in Etsako West, Akoko-Edo, Igueben, Ovia South West, Etsako East, Owan East, Owan West, Esako Central, Uhumwonde and Orhionwon local government areas.

Results from the 18 local government areas are as follow:

Akoko-Edo LGA
APC 23,945
PDP 17,511

Egor LGA
APC 12,482 
PDP 23,566

Etsako Central LGA
APC 11,437 
PDP 9,011 

Etsako East LGA
APC 16,151
PDP 16,146

Owan West LGA
APC 12,524 
PDP 10,758 

Esan North East LGA
APC 7,991
PDP 13,361

Owan East LGA
APC 18,678
PDP 15,221

Ovia North East LGA
APC 12,612
PDP 15,706 

Ovia South West LGA
APC 11,511
PDP 9,987 

Oredo LGA
APC 21,496 
PDP 34,841 

Esan South East LGA
APC 11,039
PDP 11,435

Esan West LGA
APC 10,596 
PDP 16,013

Igueben LGA
APC 7,503
PDP 6,553

Ipoba-Okha LGA
APC 25,404
PDP 30122

Etsako West LGA
APC 31,336
PDP 11,395 

Esan Central LGA
APC 8,691
PDP 9,512

Uhumwonde LGA
APC 9,969
PDP 9,766

Orhionwon LGA
APC 15,099
PDP 13,787

Meanwhile, the senatorial candidate of the PDP in Edo South, Matthew Urhoghide, has been declared winner of Saturday’s election.

Urhoghide who is the incumbent Senator representing the district, scored 135,588 votes to defeat Patrick Obaghiagbon of APC who scored 121,957 votes.

In another House of Representatives result released, PDP’s Jude Ise-Idehen scored 53,618 votes to stop the second term bid of APC’s Johnson Agbonayinma who polled 44,322 votes.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.