Femi Kuti storms US, Canada for concerts

Femi Kuti storms US, Canada for concerts

Saturday, July 2, 2016 4:01 pm


Femi Kuti. Photo credit: Remi Adetiba

Femi Kuti. Photo credit: Remi Adetiba

Afrobeat king, Femi Kuti, is right now on tour of the United States and Canada. This will span six weeks.

Femi and his Positive Force Band, that left Lagos on Monday, had a successful opening concert on Wednesday 29 June at the Fillmore on Geary Boulevard, San Francisco, California. He will perform in major American and Canadian cities.

Between now and Monday, he will perform at this year’s edition of Safeway Waterfront Blues Festival holding between Friday 1 July and Monday 4 July at the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in Portland, Oregon.

In fact, on Sunday 3 July, the Afrobeat king will feature at High Sierra Music Festival holding at the Plumas-Sierra County Fairground in Quincy, California.

The tour will also take Femi and The Positive Band to Salt Lake City, Uttah on 5 July; Boulder Theatre, Boulder, CO on 6 July; St. Louis, Missourri on Saturday 9 July; and they will be at the Milwaukee Summerfest on Sunday 10 July.

On a Monday 11 July, the band will travel to Chicago where they will jam at the Millennium Park in the city. They will rest for three days and resume gigs on Thursday 14 July at Slowdown in Omaha, Nebraska. On Friday 15 July, the Cedar Cultural Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota would heave. Same weekend, the band will perform at the Forecastle Festival holding at the Waterfront Park Great Lawn, Louisville, Kentucky.

Other cities that will experience Afrobeat vibes include Winsconsin; Grand Rapids, Michigan; and Cleveland, Ohio.

On Friday 22 July, the band will cross over to Canada to participate at this year’s edition of WayHome Music & Arts Festival at the Burl’s Creek Event Ground in Ontario, Canada. They will return to New York/New Jersey for another Festival in Brooklyn.

After series of gigs in other American cities, Femi and the Positive Band will round off the gig on Friday 29 July at the 9:30 Club in Washington, DC.

Loading...

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.